The Life of a Crafty Queen Bee Blog

This blog is what you've been waiting for…a tale of a fabulous, crafty, funny chick!

This is my “terrible”… May 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — queenbeemegan @ 12:20 am

I am not ashamed to admit that I have a girl crush/mild obsession with Elsie Flannigan.  She is an artist who back in the day worked for a scrapbooking company and she had her own line Love, Elsie.  I love, love, love her style, what she represents, her ambition…not to mention she is the sweetest, most down to earth person I have ever met.  I was crushed when she left the scrapbooking business behind but so, so excited when she decided to open up a store in Springfield, Missouri last year.  Mike took me to Springfield for Valentine’s Day weekend (he is such a gem!) and took me to the store and I got to meet Elsie and get photos and her autograph and I felt like a big stalker, but it was such an amazing day.  I read her blog daily, have purchased many items from her store as well as received many presents from there from Mike (hooray hooray Mike). 

You are probably wondering what in the heck the point to my story is and it’s this….Elsie has decided to close her store front for the rest of 2010 (boo, hoo), but what’s worse is that she has just decided to have a garage sale to purge a lot of  her items from the store as well as her home since she just moved…when is the garage sale you ask?  It is this Saturday.  I can’t drive and that’s ok, sweet, dear Mike said he’d drive me…then I told him when…I can’t take a shower without popping a pain pill…how am I going to sit in the car for four hours down there?  Of all days, why does it have to be this Saturday?  This is so unfair….

I know there are so many other things in the world that are unfair…terrorists, war, a child having cancer…but for me, right now, this is my “terrible”.  Bear with me.

 

2 Responses to “This is my “terrible”…”

  1. Kathryn Benedict Says:

    sorry to add to your obviously stressful situation but i must ask you to cease and desist the usage of the term “hooray hooray” or ANY word written or uttered two times in succession. for example you may not write or speak the phrase “sad sad” with regard to the closing of elsie’s store or the date of her garage sale. much like paris hilton attempting to copywrite “that’s hot” we, the benedict is truly charming trust (henceforth noted as B.I.T.C.H) are in the process of claiming ownership to any usage, written or oral, of any singular word used two times in succession.
    we thank you in advance for your prompt attention to this matter.

  2. kate Says:

    Megan,
    I’m so sad for you! Have you talked to her? Maybe she will put some of your favorites back for you? I wish there was something I could do to make this better for you. 😦


Leave a comment